My Shopping Haul

Everyone that knows me knows I love fashion. Not in the way that I’d follow the runway and fashion blogs to always be on trend. More in the way that I just looove clothes and shoes. I love shopping and adding pieces to the jigsaw that makes up a person’s style. When I was pregnant I obviously didn’t really hit the shops as usual… having said that I still managed to acquire quite an amount of maternity clothes. Some bought new, some second hand, some borrowed and some bought in bigger sizes and then altered to fit me with bump. Because lets face it. I could not have spent 6 months without being able to dress myself… which means so much more than just putting on clothes.

size 16 Arthur Galan dress bought secondhand and altered to fit my 30 week bump for a wedding

size 16 Arthur Galan dress bought secondhand and altered to fit my 30 week bump for a wedding

But baby is born now and thanks to breastfeeding I was back in my old clothes quickly. So one lovely weekday morning I spent by turning over my walk-in-wardrobe (yes you read that right) from maternity style back to all my old clothes. Oh the joy of being back to oodles of choice in trousers, blouses, tops and dresses… 

goodbye maternity clothes

goodbye maternity clothes

…. except that things are not that simple. Cause it turns out breastfeeding is in some ways nearly as restrictive fashion wise as being preggers. Especially when it comes to dresses and tight fitting tops – of which I own loads! Ah well at least there are no issues with skirts and trousers. AND it gave me a reason to go on a little autumn shopping trip.

bags of success

Ever since baby Corballis was born I’ve had a building desire to hit the shops. Reading my friend Lina’s post on her shopping trip only intensified said urge. So yesterday was the day! Ciaran was packed up and I went to the nearest shopping centre. I’m normally not a fan of big shopping centres and much prefer going into town, where I can wander through the streets and find little independent shops as well as the big chains. But baby in tow there is definitely a lot to be said for the convenience of a shopping centre.

oh so sparkly

oh so sparkly

Last Saturday I met friends in Dublin and took the chance of going to my favourite consignment store called Siopaella. I will once dedicate a whole post to them but lets just say half of what I own was probably bought there. When I bought the Arthur Galan dress for the wedding in Sweden I saw those beautiful sparkly Kurt Geiger shoes. But I really didn’t need them and against my better judgement left them for someone else to buy. Well guess what they still had them and not only that, they were now on the sale rail. So I took it as a sign and bought them… together with a lovely skirt for the upcoming christening. The goal for yesterday’s shopping trip was a top to go with that skirt plus a few more tops that cater for breastfeeding. Baby played along and slept for three hours straight in the buggy while I did the damage to my debit card.

Jumper from Oasis to go with the Siopaella skirt for the christening

Jumper from Oasis to go with the Siopaella skirt for the christening

a top, a blouse and a cozy cardigan from Penneys

a top, a blouse and a cozy cardigan from Penneys

H&M was my favourite shop for maternity clothes and as I found out they also have a small range of nursing tops. They’re good value, really comfortable and made of organic cotton. I’ve already bought a pink one with little navy spots and a navy/white striped one before I had the baby. I use them all the time so yesterday I stocked up on all basic colours. It means I can wear them under a top that needs to be lifted/unbuttoned for feeding or on their own with a nice cardigan.

basic nursing tops from H&M

basic nursing tops from H&M

Turns out I could have bought the shop empty. They have gorgeous clothes at the moment. But I was a good girl and restricted myself… -ish!!

Love the details on both those tops

Love the details on both these tops

same goes for this cardigan

same goes for the cardigan

The maternity section is next to the baby section – so obviously I had to grab a few things for baba…

oh so cute

oh so cute

… and then he woke up which coincided with most of the shops closing so I headed for the hills before I could spend any more.

getting rid of the evidence

getting rid of the evidence

3 comments

  1. Ok, so now I’m in a shopping mood AGAIN, because of your amazing post here, inspired by my shopping post..haha. We’re so not good for each other when it comes to shopping..or perhaps we are?!! Hehe. Love this post, great clothes, and I love little baby Corballis’s clothes as well! You know what, Liz and I are heading to Stockholm this coming weekend…dangerous for the debit cards!! 🙂 And Liz also surprised me with a little gift today – a sweater I had fallen in love with the other day! Love ya!

    1. Ha – I think we are an amazing influence on each other! So go out there my girl and shop 🙂 PS. really really REALLY wanna come shopping in Stockholm with you and Liz!!!

      1. That’s a definite MUST!

Leave a comment